Draft minutes of the Irish Mathematical Society Annual General Meeting held on 2nd September 2022 at TU Dublin, Grangegorman

Present: C. Boyd, T. Carroll, L. Creedon, R. Flatley, R. Gaburro, B. Goldsmith,
P. Greaney, C. Kelly, D. Kitson, S. Krishnaraj, R. Levene, E. Lingham, P. Lynch,
D. Mackey, M. Mackey, N. Madden, D. Malone, P. Mellon, P. Ó Catháin, M. O'Reilly,
A. O'Shea, R. Ryan, H. Šmigoc, R. Smith, N. Snigireva

Apologies: J.P. McCarthy, R. Quinlan

1 Agenda / Conflicts of interest

The agenda was accepted and no conflicts of interest were declared.

2 Minutes

The minutes of the AGM held on 3rd September 2021 and published in issue 88 of the Bulletin were accepted with one correction; the 2021 Fergus Gaines cup recipient (recorded under AOB) was Ellen Li (and not Ellen Lee).

3 Matters Arising

E. Lingham (Sheffield-Hallam University) was welcomed as a new editorial board member for the Bulletin.

4 Correspondence

- Fáilte Ireland have offered to provide logistical and financial support for hosting conferences with over 100 international delegates. Financial support would typically range from €10-€30 per international delegate.
- An outreach initiative called *I'm a Scientist* is seeking mathematicians for an activity in October 2022. Further details are available on the IMS twitter account.

5 Membership Applications

18 new membership applications were approved since the last AGM. The new members are: Guillem Cobos, Mary Cunneen, Riccardo Della Martera, Fearghus Downes, Fionn Downes, Ronan Egan, Martin Friesen, Ramen Ghosh, Eva Leahy, Andrew Leader, Denise Lord, Jan Manschot, Dylan McGrath, Timothy McNicholl, Christopher Noonan, Thomas Quinlan, Morgan Robson and Gaston Vergara Hermosilla. Additionally, a lifetime membership application was approved for Eleanor Lingham.

New institutional membership applications were approved for TU Dublin and MTU.

6 President's Report

The president gave a summary of the report (available in full in the Bulletin), covering recent EMS activities (nominations for the EMS Young Academy, the establishment of EMS Topical Activity Groups, the EMS council meeting in Bled), the IMU General Assembly in Helsinki and the Society's response to events in Ukraine. The president also reported on continuing efforts to obtain financial support for IMU fees and members were encouraged to assist with this where possible. The value of IMU activities to mathematics in Ireland was noted and a discussion followed on other possible sources of funding. Suggestions included making a joint bid for financial support with other scientific societies and contacting government backbenchers, opposition party members and journalists. Members were encouraged to follow the IMS twitter account.

7 Treasurer's Report

A report on finances was presented. Printing costs of the Bulletin are expected to increase. There is a downward trend in the closing balance due to the IMU membership fee.

8 Conference Support Fund

The Irish Numerical Analysis Forum was awarded $\in 125$ to support the continuation of the online seminar series. Members were encouraged to submit applications for the Nov/Dec deadline.

9 International Mathematical Union

The activities of the IMU and issues around IMU membership had been dealt with as part of the President's Report and the Treasurer's Report.

10 Bulletin

Members were encouraged to submit items to the Bulletin which are of general interest to readers. D. Malone was commended for his work in creating DOI's for the Bulletin. Several suggestions were made on suitable items including articles on mathematics history, mathematics education, and Athena Swan. It was also suggested that the Bulletin could record the abstracts from IMS Conferences and that speakers could submit accompanying articles to the Bulletin. Members were reminded to submit recurring items for the Bulletin in a timely manner. The application to Scopus was discussed.

11 Irish Committee for Mathematics Education (ICME)

A. O'Shea reported that two meetings had been held in the academic year 2021/22. The committee is working on the following topics:

Textbook quality assurance: A subgroup consisting of M. Hanley, R. Flatley and J. Grannell has made an initial report and work is ongoing.

- **Links with the IAMTA:** The committee has contacted the IAMTA with a view to developing resources for the new Applied Mathematics Leaving Certificate course.
- Supporting exceptional talent: Work is ongoing.
- **Developing links between mathematicians and researchers in mathematics education:** The first meeting of the online reading seminar, organised by J. Crowley, was held in November 2021. Suggestions for the next topic of discussion are welcome.
- **National Research Classification System:** The committee made a submission to the recent consultation on the National Research Classification System in support of including Mathematics Education as a named research area.

12 Irish Committee for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion in Mathematics (ICEDIM)

Terms of reference for the committee had been prepared and Romina Gaburro was approved as chair of the committee. The importance of addressing EDI issues in mathematics was noted. The committee will advise and report to the IMS committee on EDI matters and aim to give prominence and visibility to women and underrepresented groups in mathematics.

13 Elections

R. Gaburro and A. O'Shea have reached the end of two year terms as committee members, and both are eligible for re-election. T. Carroll has reached the end of a two year term as president, and is consequently not eligible for re-election as president. D. Mackey has reached the end of a six year term as committee member, and is consequently not eligible for re-election as committee member.

L. Creedon was nominated for president by T. Carroll and seconded by M. Mathieu. R. Quinlan was nominated for vice president by T. Carroll and seconded by M. Mathieu. R. Gaburro and A. O'Shea were nominated for committee membership by L. Creedon and seconded by T. Carroll. T. Carroll was nominated for committee membership by D. Kitson and seconded by L. Creedon. Election to these positions was approved by the meeting.

 ${\bf 14}~{\bf AOB}$ T. Carroll and D. Mackey were thanked for their excellent service as president and committee member respectively.

Derek Kitson derek.kitson@mic.ul.ie