### Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

### 30 August 2011

The Irish Mathematical Society held its Annual General Meeting from 11.30 to 13:00 on Tuesday 30 August 2011 in the University of Limerick. There were 15 members present at the meeting.

### (1) Minutes of AGM 3 September 2010.

The minutes of the last AGM were approved and signed.

### (2) Matters Arising.

10: Regarding possible membership of the ICIAM the President said that it is planned to consult with our members soon. So far no objections have been made known to the committee.

### (3) Correspondence.

The meeting was told about an introductory one-year free membership of the EMS for PhD students. The President said that students should be encouraged to join.

### (4) Membership Applications.

Linda Kavanagh (Graduate of DIT), Dr Gerry Keane (Statistician, CIE), David Conti (Shannon Institute).

# (5) President's Report.

The President thanked M. Mathieu for editing the Bulletin, and his successor A. O'Farrell for taking on the job. J. Cruickshank was also thanked for his contribution to the Society as President and as long-standing committee member. B. Guilfoyle and N. Kopteva were also thanked for their service on the committee.

The Society funded (or was poised to fund) between eight and nine conferences in 2011. A new reciprocity agreement with the German Mathematical Society (Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung) was in process.

# (6) Treasurer's Report.

In the absence of S. Breen (who sent her apologies) S. Wills presented the Treasurer's report for 2010. It showed a surplus of  $\leq 471.63$ .

It was mentioned that while the membership rate was raised four years ago, many members are still not paying the increased amount. Members were asked to apply pressure at local level to update their standing orders.

#### (7) Bulletin.

The incoming editor A. O'Farrell thanked his predecessor M. Mathieu and G. Lessells for their respective contributions to the Bulletin.

He also announced that issue 67 of the Bulletin was almost ready for circulation.

### (8) Elections to Committee.

The following were elected unopposed to the committee:

Committee Member	Proposer	Seconder
R. Quinlan (Secretary)	S. Wills	M. Mathieu
J. Gleeson	G. Lessells	S. Wills

- S. Breen agreed to serve another two-year term as Treasurer.
- S. Buckley, R. Quinlan and A. Wickstead agreed to serve another two-year term on the Committee.

As editor, A. O'Farrell will be invited to committee meetings. The total number of years each existing member will have been on the committee as of 31 December 2011 will be: J. Cruickshank (9), N. Kopteva (6), B. Guilfoyle (6), S. Breen (5), S. O Rourke (5), S. Buckley (4), C. Hills (4), A. Wickstead (4), S. Wills (4), C. Stack (3), M. Mackey (2), R. Quinlan (2).

The following will then have one more year of office: S. Wills, M. Mathieu, C. Hills, M. Mackey, S. O Rourke, C. Stack.

# (9) EMS Presidents' Meeting.

M. Mathieu represented the Society at the EMS meeting in Bilbao. He reported that a lack of research funding from the EU was a problem. The ESF (European Science Foundation) was in danger of being closed.

### (10) **SFI**

SFI was restructuring its grant scheme, with the likely combining of the RFP (Research Frontiers Programme) with the PI (Principal Investigator) programme. The President intends to make a submission on behalf of the Society to minimise adverse consequences for Mathematics.

### (11) Future Meetings.

Next year's September Meeting and AGM will take place in IT, Tallaght, most likely on 27-28 August 2012. The following two September Meetings will be in NUI-Maynooth (2013) and QUB (2014).

### (12) Any other business.

R. Timoney reported that the SFI have no intention of supporting 'useless' subjects such as mathematics. The President said that he will do what he can to represent our views.