Minutes of the Meeting of the Irish Mathematical Society

Annual General Meeting 19th December 2001 and continued on 11th January 2002

The Irish Mathematical Society held its Annual General Meeting from 12.30 to 1.15 p.m. on Wednesday 19th December 2001 in DIAS and this meeting was continued in UCD on Friday 11th January at 5.30 p.m.

There were a total of sixteen members at the two meetings and two apologies were received.

1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of September 2001 were approved and signed.

2. Matters Arising

All matters arising were discussed under the headings below.

3. Correspondence and New Members

R. Higgs read out the routine correspondence the Society has received since September.

The following are new members of the Irish Mathematical Society:

Mr John Bibby, (Director, CountOn/MatheMagic);

Professor Ivo Duentsch, (Faculty of Informatics, University of Ulster):

Mr Colm Little, (Trinity College Dublin, student member);

Dr Sean McCartan, (Queen's University Belfast);

Professor Maeve McCarthy, (Murray State University, Kentucky, USA);

Dr Niall Madden, (National University of Ireland, Galway);

Dr Chi-Keung Ng, (Queen's University Belfast);

Dr Shane Ó Rourke, (National University of Ireland, Cork);

Dr Francesc Perera, (Queen's University Belfast);

Dr Rachel Quinlan, (University College Dublin).

The new Institutional members are:

Waterford Institute of Technology, (contact person, Dr Padraig Kirwan); Queen's University Belfast (contact person, Dr Martin Mathieu).

4. The Bulletin

A number of articles have been submitted to the Bulletin and are being considered for publication.

5. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented his interim report for 2001. The accounts do not take into account the £1,300 to be paid to UL for staging the September meeting.

Kevin Hutchinson was thanked for his six year role as Treasurer.

6. Honorary Member

A proposed Honorary Member (name withheld at present) was approved nem con and the Secretary will next write to offer him honorary membership.

7. Future conferences and meetings

The September 2002 and 2003 conferences and meetings are to be held in Cork and Galway respectively. There will be no IMS September conference in 2004, instead the IMS will jointly host the BMC in Belfast, special arrangements for the AGM will have to be made for this year.

8. Constitutional Change

The change in constitution detailed in the Summer 2001 issue of the Bulletin was passed unanimously.

9. Election of Officers

The following were elected, unopposed, to the Committee:

Committee Member	Proposer	Seconder
R. Higgs (Secretary)	R. Timoney	E. Gath
D. Wraith (Treasurer)	K. Hutchinson	R. Higgs
A. Ó Shea	R. Higgs	G. Lessells
M. Ó Reilly	S. Dineen	R. Higgs

M. Mathieu will be co-opted back onto the Committee, since all 12 electable positions have been filled.

F. Holland, K. Hutchinson and D. Ó Sé have left the Committee.

The total number of years each existing member has been on the Committee is: R. Higgs (4), T. Murphy (4), E. Gath (3), T. Ó Farrell (3), M. Mathieu (2), S. Dineen (1), D. Gilbert (1), P. Kirwan (1) and G. Lessells (1).

The following have one more year of office:

E. Gath (President), G. Lessels (Vice-President), S. Dineen, D. Gilbert,

P. Kirwan and T. Ó Farrell.

10. Any Other Business

Tribute was paid to Fergus Gaines (a former President of the IMS) and Paddy Quinlan. It was suggested that the IMS cup should be renamed, or a lecture at our September conferences be named in Fergus' honour. The feasibility of this (or other ideas) will be considered by the Committee at its next meeting.

11. Irish Mathematical Society Meetings

The next meeting of the IMS (its 2002 Annual General Meeting) will be held in September at the National University of Ireland, Cork.

Russell Higgs, University College Dublin