# Minutes of the Meeting of the Irish Mathematical Society Annual General Meeting 20th December 2000

The Irish Mathematical Society held its Annual General Meeting from 12.15 to 1.50 p.m. on Wednesday 20th December 2000 in DIAS.

**Present:** There were 19 members present and one guest.

## 1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of September 2000 were approved, with one minor amendment, and were then signed.

#### 2. Matters Arising

All matters arising were discussed under the headings below.

#### 3. Correspondence/Membership Applications

R. Higgs read out the (routine) correspondence the Society has received since September.

The list of new members of the Irish Mathematical Society were read out: Professor Titus Petrila, (Babes-Bolyai University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania); Mr Michael Gormley, (student member, Queen's University Belfast); Mr Brian Stack, (student member, National University of Ireland, Maynooth); Professor Dirk Werner, (formerly of National University of Ireland, Galway); Dr Helen McMullen, (University College Dublin); Dr Tom Carroll, (University College Cork); Dr Daphne Gilbert, (Dublin Institute of Technology); University of Limerick, (institutional member).

### 4. Membership Secretary's Report

T. Murphy reported that there is a mailing list for most IMS members, to use it go to

http://www.maths.tcd.ie/mailman/listinfo/ims-members.

Gordon Lessells is trying to get more members from the Institutes of Technology, however a member present from an IT commented that many of the talks at IMS meetings were perceived as being above the heads of such potential members. T. Murphy suggested that at least one talk at all IMS meetings should be of a general nature.

#### 5. Honorary Members

Three mathematicians were formally proposed and seconded for honorary membership. All were accepted nem. con. (Names withheld until they are contacted.)

Some concern was expressed that all three were pure mathematicians, but after some discussion it was agreed that no division should be made between pure and applied, and that the Society should continue to represent both strands.

M. Mathieu suggested that in future a short curriculum vitae of those proposed would be useful.

R. Timoney made a suggestion of a further candidate to be considered in the future (name withheld).

### 6. The Bulletin

Books to be reviewed in the future should be sent to M. Mathieu. S. Dineen had been unsuccessful in his efforts to raise sponsorship for the Bulletin. The format of the next editions will remain as before, because of lack of resources. G. Lessells will continue to print the Bulletin at the University of Limerick. The permanency of the binding was mentioned. Also it was agreed in future that the Bulletin should be produced in summer and winter issues.

### 7. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented his interim report for 2000. There were less subscriptions received than in previous years, and a long outstanding bill had been paid to the London Mathematical Society. The impact of the euro was then discussed. It was proposed that Euro20 should be the (ordinary) membership fee for those not paying by standing order from 1st January 2002. M. Mathieu then formally proposed that fees should be increased immediately to £20. This motion was defeated by five votes to three. The matter was then referred back to the Committee to discuss at its next meeting. However after some discussion it was agreed that institutional membership would be raised to Euro130 with effect from 1st January 2002, but that the number of (free) student memberships, which such a member receives, be raised to ten.

## 7. Election of Officers

The following were elected, unopposed, to the Committee:

Committee Member	Proposer	Seconder
E. Gath (President)	R. Timoney	K. Hutchinson
G. Lessells (Vice-President)	R. Timoney	R. Dark
S. Dineen	R. Timoney	M. Mackey
T. Ó Farrell	D. Armitage	R. Higgs
P. Kirwan	E. Gath	M. Mackey
D. Gilbert	M. Golden	E. Gath

The following have left the Committee:

R. Timoney and G. Ellis.

D. Armitage becomes an *ex officio* member of the Committee.

The total number of years each existing member has been on the Committee is: E. Gath (2), R. Higgs (3), F. Holland (1), K. Hutchinson (6), M. Mathieu (1), T. Murphy (3), T. Ó Farrell (2), D. Ó Sé (1).

The following have one more year of office:

R. Higgs (Secretary), K. Hutchinson (Treasurer), F. Holland, M. Mathieu, T. Murphy, and D. Ó Sé.

#### 8. Future meetings

The September 2001 Limerick IMS conference will probably take place from 3rd September to 5th September. The 2002 meeting will be in Cork.

## 9. Any Other Business

David Armitage was thanked by the members for his service as President.

## 10. Irish Mathematical Society Meetings

The next meeting is to be held in September as normal.

Russell Higgs, University College Dublin